top of page

The Story of Gonzo

Today I want to talk about the gecko who started it all for me when it comes to Crested Geckos... Gonzo!

Gonzo as a juvenile, Chelsea Lowman photo

Nearly nine years ago, when I was around 14, I decided that I wanted to get a Crested Gecko. I already had a Leopard Gecko, so I wasn't completely new to reptiles. So, I did a lot of research on the little critters, bought a setup, and then went out to get my very first Crested Gecko.

I went to a pet store to pick out my gecko. Now, I will be honest, I am not a fan of pet stores and I no longer will buy animals from one. I prefer rescues or reputable breeders, but at the time, I was young and unaware of some of the sketchy things that go on at some pet stores. However, I will say that when I got Gonzo the enclosure he was in was spotless and he and his tank mates all were in good health, so I got lucky. I knew from the moment I saw Gonzo that he was the one for me. He had the sweetest, goofiest face and I could tell that he was going to be a great pet.

Gonzo was tame right from the start. I had his name picked out in advance, and it turned out to be a perfect fit for him. You see, the name Gonzo means "one who is a friend" and that's exactly what he was supposed to be, a friend. People who think that reptiles don't have personalities have never met Gonzo because he has more spirit and personality than some people I know! He is always in a silly mood, doing all sorts of acrobatics and back flips in his tank, or literally throwing himself at people when they hold their hands out to him. He is so tame that all I have to do is take the lid off his tank and he comes scurrying up the glass to leap onto my hand. And when I don't take him out he still tries to be near me, curiously climbing through his tank to get a better look at what I'm doing. Every single night, without fail, he follows my every move, leaping to whichever end of his tank is closer to where I am. He is a very curious creature, who has never had a shy or timid bone in his body. He is so entertaining to watch because you never know what kind of weird thing he's going to do next. Holding Gonzo or even just watching him always puts me in a good mood. I was so lucky that my first Crested Gecko ever turned out to be so awesome.

Gonzo loves his food. Whenever he sees me walking into my room with the dish of Crested Gecko Diet he gets very excited. He'll literally throw himself onto the wall of his tank and look at me with an insane look in his giant eyes. He almost always starts chirping when I lower his meal into the tank, and then he dives in with no shame. Once he has licked the bowl clean, he flips it upside down and goes on his way. I find it so adorable how dramatic he is about his meals. One time he was facing the opposite side of the tank and didn't see me coming in with the food. When I took the lid off and he realized what was happening he got so excited that he literally did a backflip and launched himself onto my hand, landing right next to the dish I was holding. He has always had a healthy appetite, and that's just another thing about him that makes him a fun and easy pet to have.

Gonzo's friendly and curious nature isn't the only thing about him that's awesome. Another trait about him that I love is that he makes an excellent model for my photography! I know it's just a coincidence, but I find it funny that Gonzo "poses" for my camera. He will literally let me put him in any position for a photoshoot, and will look directly into the lens with the best expressions! He'll lick his eye or make a "smile". It is so cute! His little cartoon-like face is so expressive in my opinion, and he always looks like he's happy. Below are some pictures of Gonzo. I think you'll see what I mean when I say he's a great model!

Gonzo, by Chelsea Lowman

The image above is one of my favorite pictures of Gonzo. The face he is making totally captures his personality.

Gonzo, Cream Mocha Flame, by Chelsea Lowman

Gonzo's always happy- Chelsea Lowman photo

Gonzo, by Chelsea Lowman

He is a great subject to photograph!

Gonzo's Foot, by Chelsea Lowman

Gonzo during Easter, by Chelsea Lowman

Gonzo's baby pictures

I can't believe he was ever this tiny! Chelsea Lowman photo

Gonzo on my camera bag, by Chelsea Lowman

Above is an old shot of Gonzo on my camera bag, and below is another baby picture of him

Gonzo, begging for attention- Chelsea Lowman picture

Above you can see how he begs for attention, and below you can see him in his stylish hat!

Gonzo's Hat, by Chelsea Lowman

Chelsea Lowman photo

The faces he makes are priceless

He is "guarding" his can of crickets

Gonzo slowly reaching for the camera, Chelsea Lowman photo

Gonzo at Christmas, by Chelsea Lowman

He's a camera ham! Chelsea Lowman photo

When I look at a lizard like Gonzo, it blows my mind that some people are afraid of reptiles. He is one of the friendliest, most unique pets I have ever had!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page